Storytelling…

Since trying my luck in a prestigious Filipino Literary contest more than two years ago, I haven’t been able to make a follow through. I haven’t been able to complete a full story since then.

Ideas, I know for sure that I have a lot. I guess it has something to do with the fact that I have been trying too hard that ideas don’t seem to come out naturally anymore. I’ve started at least five or more but haven’t managed to complete even one. It’s kind of frustrating at times, to be honest.

I have this crazy dream of becoming a published best selling author. With the looks of it, it’s quite far from reality as of the moment.

I never really had any kind of formal training in writing, more so fiction writing. The next best way that I learned it was through reading books – a lot of books.

From poorly written books to best selling novels – I’ve read a lot of those. Different storylines. Common and uncommon plots. Cliché stories. I’ve read a lot of those.

I know that apart from reading books, I will have to go to at least one writing workshop. It will definitely allow me to hone my craft more. I bought a ‘scriptwriting’ manual thinking it would teach me the same concepts that I need to know about storytelling. I haven’t finished reading that manual. I bought it at least four years ago. Why? I got too caught up doing other things. Well, that’s another excuse. Definitely.

I don’t think I am a good writer. I really just like to write. It was my refuge. It was a way for me to express things.

I will continue writing new stuff for this blog hoping that it would become more of a habit, which would or should help me get back on the storytelling track.

Leave a Reply

