Footwear Review: Zoo York Boer

I bought one just a few days before Christmas. It’s a birthday/Christmas gift to myself. When I first saw it in Fusion (a local shoe store in the Philippines), I already wanted to buy the shoes. It’s the type made for skateboarding. I’m not really into skateboarding but I just had to have a pair.

It was on sale for half the original price and when I bought it, mine was one of two pairs remaining.

boer

Photo of the Zoo York Boer from http://www.onion.com

Yes, it might look weird because it is silver and blue. But really, it’s a nice looking pair of kicks. Between the iRobot Black Leather Chucks and this, I’ll probably still be choosing this. No bias intended. I do own three pairs of Chucks and planning to buy another one.

The overall design of the shoes is nice. It stands out, that’s for sure. Made from probably synthetic leather with silver coating. The blue soles adds up to the shoe’s attention grabbing design.

As the saying goes, don’t judge the book by its cover. This quote applies to this pair of kicks as well. Although it may be a nice looking pair, I noticed one disappointment. After all, there’s no such thing as a perfect product.

The fit. For some reason, the one that I got doesn’t seem to fit very well. Although it was of my size, whenever I walk wearing the shoes, I feel like my right pinky toe gets crushed. When I take off my shoes, it looks all read and hurts a little. I’m not sure if it really is with the kicks or it’s my foot that has the problem but it does hurt. Whether I’m wearing thick socks, thin socks or no socks at all.

But aside from that one complaint, I’m all praises for this pair of kicks.

Disclaimer: This is just my personal opinion about the kicks. If you have your own, please leave a comment and I’ll try to respond as soon as I can.

Leave a Reply

