Book Review: Ricky Lee’s Para Kay B

Image courtesy of Divisoria.com

Image courtesy of Divisoria.com

Ricky Lee, screenwriter of famous Filipino movies such as that Nora Aunor film Himala, released his first fiction novel last year. The book launch was on November 30, 2008 to be exact. It was entitled, Para Kay B (O kung paano dinevastate ng pag-ibig ang 4 out of 5 sa atin). It was written in a mix of English and Filipino. It had five stories which turned out to be inter-connected.

I recently bought a copy since it was the 8th bestseller in a well-known bookstore when I saw it. So I was curious. I mean, if he was that good of a screenwriter, could he be like that in fiction writing as well? But after being able to finish reading the book, I realized I just wouldn’t be able to compare. The writing style was unorthodox for one. There were way too unrealistic parts in the story, which I assume are figurative. The parts were obviously cinema-like themed. And then there were parts that were seemingly based on real events. You would have to finish reading the book to find out why the title was such and who the person really was. The book also features an excerpt from his next novel entitled “Aswang”.

Yup, the book is about love. Not the typical type of romance novel though; because if it was, I wouldn’t have read it. Why? Well, I’m really not into those romance novels. I personally think they’re too cheesy and the stories are over written.

On the book are commentaries by well known personalities in showbiz and as well as in literature. Boy Abunda, Marilou Diaz-Abaya, and Ely Buendia to name a few.

Musician Ely Buendia (Eraserheads/The Mongols/Pupil) commented, and I quote:

Ricky Lee is one of the best Filipino writers ever, bar none. This long overdue book will prove that he rules on the page as well as on the screen.

How was the read? In my opinion, it was a good read. Although there were dull parts in the story, there were those that which everybody can relate to. I mean, it’s not the best book out in the bookstores right now but it’s quite entertaining and the characters kind of haunt you for days after reading the book. People can actually relate to the characters in the story. I would have to agree with Film and TV Director Joyce Bernal when she said that the story is very visual. The characters were well described that it would seem like they are real.

I personally couldn’t stop reading until I finished it. It took me about a week to finish it since I was pretty much busy with work and we aren’t really allowed to bring books inside the office.

Was it worth the buy? The book costs Php250.00. It’s not cheap but it’s also not that expensive. It was written by a Multi-Awarded screenwriter. So yeah, I guess it was worth the buy.

Would I recommend it to anybody? Well, I guess so. Not everybody will like the book but I’d say it’s worth the read. 243 Pages of mixed emotions is worth the read.

Leave a Reply

