Movie Review: Khaled Hosseini’s The Kite Runner (2007)

Image from Wikipedia.org

Image from Wikipedia.org

There is only one sin, only one. And that is theft. Every other sin is a variation of theft… When you kill a man, you steal a life. You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness.

– Baba, The Kite Runner

I was able to watch this movie just last week. It was so full of emotions.  I guess it was okay.

I thought it took too long to tell the story. There were good parts and there were dull parts. But you’ll actually learn from the movie.

The quoted statement above was something I pondered on. I actually agreed with it. There were some more memorable quotes in the movie. Though I won’t mention them anymore.

The movie has some philosophical and political stuff involved. The political stuff, I didn’t like it. It seemed like they just tried fitting it into the storyline. The philosophical stuff, yeah I like it.

The scene that brought tears to my eyes was the scene where Amir was reading the letter from Hassan(his loyal friend and their servant’s son who turned out to be his brother).  The scene was so full of emotions. You’ll find out why when you watch the movie.

The Kite Runner is about a lot of things. Courage, cowardice, discrimination, etc. I would recommend that you watch it.

My Rating: 3.75 out of 5 Stars.

Leave a Reply

