Movie Review: Taken (2008)

Taken strarring Liam Neeson

Official North America Poster

It is a 2008 French Action/Thriller. The movie stars Liam Neeson (Schindler’s List),  Famke Jansen (X-Men), and Maggie Grace to name a few. Directed by Pierre Morel.

The story basically revolves around an ex-spy whose daughter Kim was kidnapped by a group of Albanian Slave Traders while in France for a U2 European Tour. He basically went to France to look for her and chase the kidnappers and save her.

I didn’t actually realize that the movie was a thriler until I read about it on movie review websites. It was basically a typical action movie with a typical storyline. It was a disappointment to me. Well there were some nice action scenes. But it was just a movie about a wild goose chase around a foreign land.

I woouldn’t really recommend this movie to anyone. If you are up to a typical car chase/gun fight/kid-gets-kidnapped-dad-saves-kid action movie then it’s your choice. Liam Neeson’s acting was ok but the storyline wasn’t. There were good parts and a lot of bad ones. It’s a movie that I don’t think I want to watch for the second time.

For the action scenes, I guess I could give it a 2.5 out of 5 Stars.

One thought on “Movie Review: Taken (2008)

  1. I enjoyed this movie quite a bit, it threw a few curveballs in there so it didn’t end up to cliched. Great post, I like your blog.

Leave a Reply

